True Life

Oh…University.

enhanced-buzz-3882-1376417268-8

I’ve been away for a while, but now I’m back! I’m finally home for Christmas break!! I can’t tell you how much of a relief it is. This past semester of college has been pretty crazy.  I had to do papers  almost every week for a good 3 months. Anyway, I’m not going to bore you with my semantics. But there are 3 main things that I learned, or was finally able to grasp, this past semester.

1. Sleep is very verryyy important.
Why did I not figure that out before? I honestly don’t know. I hardly got any sleep these past 5 months. I mean, I did sleep of course, but going to bed before 12 am is very foreign to me. And i had an 8:30am class 3 days a week. *Go Figure* What i finally understood is that if you not getting a good amount of sleep can  mess up your flow. It’s easier for your mood to be edgy or irritated, you can become very restless, hard to focus, all you want to do is sleep…am I preaching to the choir or what?  Haha. I know I’m not the only one.

2. No one is perfect. Give people chances.
So I learned who my TRUE friends were this semester. Sometimes, you meet great people, and you guys have an instant connection. It’s like you guys were best friends from all along. And that’s a great feeling. I’ve experienced that quite a few times. But after a while, after you spend more and more time with them, you see how they really are. And you might not like everything you see. Do you stop being friends with them? Well, people can give you billions of reasons not to be friends with someone, and not that many reasons to actually be someone’s friend. All I’m trying to say is, we shouldn’t give up on people easily. Yea, I’m pretty sure they could be ignorant about a couple of things. They could always say “Oh my gosh, when i get off work, we are going shopping!” and then tell you when they get off of work that they’re too tired to do anything. They could always ask you embarrassing questions in public (ex. “Are you on your period?” or “Do you like him?” right in front of your crush. Awwkkwaardd.) Heck, they can be the Queen of Ditzyland for all you know. Everyone has their perks…everyone has their flaws. True friends will balance it out. Stick with them, they can truly be a blessing in your life. I always refer to Bob Marley’s quote: “Truth is, everybody is going to hurt you; you just gotta find the ones worth suffering for.”

3. Have some “ME” time!
Yes yes, that good old me time. “Me time” doesn’t necessarily mean going on Facebook (or any other social media website), watching TV, or using the computer. Me time is more about getting from technology and clearing your head. Social media can put you in a bad mood sometimes, but that’s a whole other story. Instead of using tech, you could read an interesting book, paint, take a long walk, write a poem or short story, try out a new recipe…their are so many options! Just make sure you get that me time in there. It can have crazy positive effects for you; trust and believe, it worked for me. I’ve provided these links that give suggestions and pointers on how to have me time. I know, i deserve a pat on the back. Or a cookie. Actually, a cookie is better. 🙂

Oh man guys, I have lessons for days. But that’s what my blog is for. I can share all the lessons I’ve learned and tell all my stories in other blog posts soon to come. As for now, i hope you guys can take something from this. Cherish your friends, spend some time with yourself (don’t neglect others too long though, lol), and get some rest! These are a few keys to a successful  life. What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

